Duke Consortia for HIV/AIDS Vaccine Development (CHAVD)

This Duke Consortia for HIV/AIDS Vaccine Development (CHAVD) funded in 2019 will apply state-of-the-art technologies and immunologic tools to focus on iterative, rational vaccine design that within 7 years will lead to a successful final vaccine design. There were two consortiums funded, one at Duke University and one at Scripps Research Institute.

The Duke CHAVD will build on 14 years of experience in the Duke Center for HIV/AIDS Vaccine Immunology (CHAVI) (2005-2012) and the Duke Center for HIV/AIDS Vaccine Immunology and Immunogen Design (CHAVI-ID) (2012-2019) programs. The original CHAVI program focused on new vaccine strategies to overcome key immunological roadblocks in HIV vaccine design. These roadblocks included a lack of understanding of the correlates of protective immunity to HIV-1 and a lack of vectors and immunogens that can induce protective, durable immune responses at mucosal sites. The CHAVI studied the transmitted virus and the biological events that occur during transmission and helped to define protective innate and adaptive host defenses against HIV in humans and SIV in primates. The CHAVI-ID built upon this work and developed first generation HIV-1 immunogens to induce HIV-1 protective antibodies, and established a translational pipeline to dramatically accelerate HIV-1 vaccine development with our own GMP manufacturing capabilities at Duke. The overall goal of the Duke CHAVD is to develop an effective HIV-1 vaccine for global use. 

Contact Information:

Barton F. Haynes, M.D., Principal Investigator of CHAVD

Kelly Soderbergh, Ph.D., CHAVD Program Director 

Scientific Leadership Group

Frederick W. Alt, Ph.D.

Beatrice H. Hahn, M.D.

Garnett H. Kelsoe, DSc

Bette T. Korber, Ph.D.

Sir Andrew J McMichael

George M. Shaw, M.D., Ph.D

Scientific Avisory Board 

Peter Cresswell Ph.D., FRS

Nina Russell, M.D.

Mr. William Snow

Marco Colonna, M.D.

Gary Nabel, M.D., Ph.D

Nina Bhardwaj, M.D., Ph.D.

John Mascola, M.D.

Lawrence Corey, M.D.

Stanley Plotkin, M.D., GME

Lynn Morris, D.Phil.

David M. Lee, M.D., Ph.D.

Sir John James Skehel, FRS, FMedSci