email this



Laboratory of B cell Development and Differentiation

Director: Garnett Kelsoe, PhD

Research in the Laboratory of B Cell Development and Differentiation is focused on the humoral immune response.


Laboratory of B cell Immunoregulation

Director: Laurent Verkoczy, PhD

The overall focus of the Laboratory of B cell Immunoregulation is to identify viral and host determinants involved in controlling B cell responses required for generating “broadly neutralizing” antibodies (bnAbs) to the HIV-1 gp41 membrane proximal external region (MPER).


Laboratory of B cell Immunotechnology

Director: Anthony Moody, MD

The primary focus of the laboratory is the study of humoral responses to vaccination and infection with the goal of understanding how to elicit protective responses by vaccination.

Laboratory of B cell Repertoire Analysis

Director: Mattia Bonsignori, MD

The Laboratory of B cell Repertoire Analysis begun its operations in 2009 with the scope of establishing technologies for the high-throughput screening of large numbers of B cells for human antibodyome analyses.


DHVI Biostatistics Center

Director: Nathan Vandergrift, PhD

The DHVI Biostatistics and Bioinformatics team operates in the Biostatistics Center at the DHVI and provides statistical support for investigators at Duke and worldwide.


Laboratory of Host Defense Research

Director: Barton Haynes, MD

The lab is studying host innate and adaptive immune responses to HIV, TB, and influenza to find the enabling technology to make preventive vaccines against these three major infectious diseases.


Laboratory of HIV Pathogenesis & Prevention

Director: Mary Klotman, MD

The primary focus of Dr. Klotman’s research efforts at the DHVI is understanding fundamental host-viral interactions that provide insights into the pathogenesis of HIV-1 and approaches for the prevention of HIV-1 infection.


Laboratory of Immune Recognition

Director: Munir Alam, PhD

The Alam laboratory's basic research is targeted at developing new ways to monitor and enhance T and B cell responses to vaccines.


Laboratory of Immune Responses & Virology

Director: Georgia Tomaras, PhD

The aim of Dr. Tomaras' overall research program is to understand the cellular and humoral immune response to HIV-1 infection and vaccination that are involved in protection against HIV-1.


Immunology Virology Quality Assessment Center

Director: Thomas Denny, MSc

The IVQAC is a resource designed to help domestic and international immunologists evaluate and enhance the integrity and comparability of immunological laboratory determinations performed on patients enrolled in multi-site HIV/AIDS therapeutic, vaccine, and prevention investigations.


Laboratory of Molecular Virology

Director: Feng Gao, MD

Dr. Gao’s laboratory has a long-standing interest in elucidating the genetic variation and evolution of HIV and SIV and in studying HIV/SIV gene function and pathogenic mechanisms from an evolutionary perspective.


Laboratory of Mycobacteriology

Director: Sunhee Lee, PhD

The Lee laboratory is focused on the development of safe and effective vaccines and immunotherapeutics for Mycobacterium tuberculosis (MTB) via novel strategies and approaches.


Laboratory of Neonatal Viral Pathogen Immunity

Director: Sallie Permar, MD

The Permar laboratory focuses on immune responses at the maternal-fetal interface that protect against neonatal viral pathogens, namely HIV-1 and cytomegalovirus.


Tuberculosis Antibody Laboratory 

Director: Richard Frothingham, MD

The Frothingham laboratory focuses on Yersinia pestis, the bacterial cause of bubonic and pneumonic plague. The goals of the Frothingham laboratory are to define specific protective mechanisms that are a part of the host response to plague and to use this information to develop better drugs and vaccines against plague infection.

Laboratory of Protein Expression

Director: Kevin Saunders, PhD 

Current research in the Liao laboratory is focused on HIV-1 vaccine immunogen design and development for the induction of broadly reactive antibody and T cell responses, host immune responses to HIV-1 infection, host cellular factors that modulate HIV-host interactions, and the development of vaccines and diagnostics for viral hemorrhagic fever and other emerging infectious diseases.


Laboratory of T cell Biology & Immune Reconstitution

Director: Gregory D. Sempowski, PhD

The Laboratory of T-Cell Biology and Immune Reconstitution is located in the Regional Biocontainment Building at Duke. The Sempowski lab has an independent research program to study immune senescence that is associated with aging.


Laboratory of Vaccine Vector Immunology

Gregory Sempowski, PhD

The major focus of the research in the Laboratory of Vaccine Vector Immunology is to develop novel vaccines based on recombinant viruses for the prevention of viral diseases and to better characterize the vaccine-induced immune responses that confer long-lasting protection.

Duke University X-ray Crystallography Shared Resource

Director: Nathan Nicely, PhD

The Duke University Macromolecular X-ray Crystallography Shared Resource offers services in determining and publishing macromolecular crystal structures. We offer everything from crystallization trials through data collection, structure phasing, refinement and analysis on a fee-for-service basis.