EQAPOL Holds First Annual Scientific Advisory Board Meeting


email this

September 23, 2011

The External Quality Assurance Program Oversight Laboratory (EQAPOL) first annual Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) meeting was held September 7-8, 2011 in Durham, North Carolina at the Washington Duke Inn. The meeting was attended by SAB members, David Barnett, PhD from UK NEQAS; Holden T. Maecker, PhD from Stanford University; Robert W. Coombs, MD, PhD from the University of Washington; and Maurice R.G. O'Gorman, PhD from Northwestern University.  NIAID representatives included Jim Lane, Pat D’Souza, Marco Schito and Daniella Livnat.  Becton Dickinson (BD) collaborators included Maria Jaimes and Skip Maino.  Michael Busch from the Blood Systems Research Institute (BSRI) also attended as well as the EQAPOL Steering Committee members.  During the two-day meeting, leadership from each of the EQAPOL programs presented updates to the SAB members. Overall, the SAB members were impressed with how quickly EQAPOL has become operational and made several recommendations to ensure the success of the program.